Pay Up | Week 8 : Who Buys Photography?| Sustainable Prospects | Lesson/Research

Feature Image

Who Buys Photography?

“One thing art buyers love to see is a creative portfolio – show them your individual visual identity and voice. Creating a portfolio which contains a mix of personal, editorial and commercial work, that has a nice flow and logic to it, will make sure that you will stay in the art buyer’s or art director’s mind, and that they will think of your work if they have an appropriate job coming up. Do not try to appeal to everyone. Do what you are good at.” 

This is one of the best things I can take away from this weeks presentation. As i’ve always been told that if you don’t fit in, you may not stand a chance in the industry.

Searching through the links proved in this section of the week lead me to read one of the short interviews with Aimee Luther on passion, bravery and predictions for 2019 where she discusses that she wants to see “the joy return to our industry”…

She continues –

“Each creative business is only as good as its people.
Good people have good ideas. And it’s those good ideas that make a very real impact on a Clients business.  It really is that simple.  And so, nurturing these good people, bringing out the best in them and watching them fly is one of the things I’m passionate about.
There is no industry with a better combination of creativity and business acumen and yet the last decade has been pretty joyless for many.  I want to see bravery beat conservatism, trust and gut instinct win the creative battles in clients heads and for the pleasure of ad-land to be felt by every Client and ad-soul alike.”

It also led me to learn about the CALM’s – Project 84.

These are all continued reasons for me to proceed with my plans for the direction of my art. The people I will photograph are people I care for, hopefully, this will show in my work. My ultimate goal is to help reconnect each other, a different perspective on humanity. I hope to gain attention through my work and then provide helpful information on self-development through my website.

I learned that Aimee Luther works for a start-up company called Fortnight Collective. They are designed to help boost small to large businesses and aim to do so within 2 weeks. Judging by the list provided by the course this would make them a communication agency, a brand marketing agency to be exact. I want to use them in the near future once my website is made.

“Communication agencies include advertising agencies, PR companies, marketing agencies, design agencies and creative agencies, amongst many others.”

This information provided in the course has helped me establish the difference between those who buy photography.

Pricing Your Photography

I have taken photos of the clients for themselves when it comes to portraiture or party/weddings, therefore I allow them to keep the image and to do whatever they wish with it. Photographs are life and life is meant to be enjoyed so I try not to make pricing too complicated, no matter how complex the situation. One thing I ask in return is that they mention my name, either in writing e.g an Instagram tag or I watermark for recognition.
If I was shooting for a business I would be charging a lot more and I have now learned several new useful facts in this week’s presentations and readings in areas I am not so familiar with.

Estimate Challenge

A small communications agency contacts you and would like you to give them an estimate. They are re-branding Broadgate, an area in London, and need 25 images to use for printed materials, social media, web, tube ads and potentially billboards. The license term is five years. They think you can do the shoot in two days.

Remember to think about which market we are dealing with here, and what that means in terms of your daily rate. Also remember to think about the following:

  • Do you need to hire lighting equipment? Or a location? Or a studio?
  • Do you need to bring an assistant?
  • Are you able to do all the post production, or do you need a retoucher to do it? Either way, how much will that cost?
  • Do you need to charge for production? If yes, how much will that be?
  • Are their travel costs?

 

Travel – Tain £60-80 return depending on day.

Accommodation for 1 night – £30-£40 Airbnb.

2 Days shooting including selecting and post processing hours – £200 per day 8-10 hours = £400

Drone Hire (I would ask if the air shots required).

No extra charge for my current camera, lens and flash equipment.

If nighttime shots required, additional lighting may be required.

I am not sure what the exact price would be for the images to be licensed for 5 years and to be displayed on all these platforms, but I went over to the AOP usage calculator and entered in the base rate for the work which in this case is £400, these were the results…

Screen Shot 2018-11-15 at 20.51.16

However since I wouldn’t class myself a professional with high-end equipment, I would half the estimate AOP has given me to £6650.


Thank you

Leave a comment