Read Into It (Dan Holdsworth’s – Blackout) | Week 7: Publication Guidance | Surfaces and Strategies | Lesson/Research |

Feature Image

I think for a publication, the order in which you display your photos is very important. As I have discussed in previous posts, for the body of work the viewer needs to get a feel of what the body of work is about and will continue to look like, leaving what you feel is your best work at the end to give the reader a reward for giving the time to go through the entire body of your work.

The work I will be using for the publication is an early sub stage of my overall project which is the negative work I have recently created. Originally I started this in a misty landscape, making use of the weather effects against the environment and any subjects I come across. But I later decided to use these effects upon a portrait, what I now like to call the subject. A mysterious figure that has no story, only an emotion which the viewer can choose to relate too.

When researching Dan Holdsworth’s – Blackout to compare negative works, I managed to find his publication in the library…

Dan produced fine imagery of the mountains in negative form. They were so clear and crisp, it was hard to imagine the textures where real. I especially liked how the mountains faded off into the distance into darkness and I would love to had seen them in colour too. Also the half white half black textures in the last two photos not only looks visually pleasing but amplifies the negatives black and white themed core.

The reason I bring up Dan’s work is because I feel I can relate to it in a way. Like the name blackout, there is not much to be said here. It is dark, it is isolated, it’s as if he wanted to the viewer to take it in and appreciate the visuals for what they are and is not trying to force anything down anyones throat. The images are displayed against white paper, sometimes a quarter or a third of the page leaving the rest white to give the images a punch. Sometimes he would display the image again on the next two pages on a full A3 double spread (Shown in the images above). There is a small paragraph at the beginning, and then 3-4 pages at the back of text, but when you are looking at the images you are not swayed by any writing, I actually wasn’t expecting it, for me it added mystery.

Dan even held his exhibition in a similar way to his book…

 

“Occupying a space between documentary and the make-believe, these photographs, reproduced to a grand scale, transform the elemental terrain of giant Icelandic glaciers as they melt away into a strange, futuristic landscape. Blackout’s awe-striking photographs appear so otherworldly it is almost impossible to believe that these lunar-style landscapes actually exist. The blue of the sky becomes the deep black of space, while the earth appears in negative, beyond imaginable human time and space. Reconstructing the notion of the romantic sublime for the 21st century, Holdsworth’s practice is consumed with investigating the unknown: pushing the peripheries of time, space, and consciousness beyond the limits of ordinary perception.” – Source

I’m not much of a writer, I find it difficult. But I am a fan of meaningful sentences. This give me an idea to combine my images with phrases, a lot like you see on Instagram nowadays…

This won’t sway the viewers perception of the photo, but it may get them thinking, or even trigger an emotion memory. Things that will be said will be fitted around the over theme of work…

  • How can a publication help your work reach an audience?

Some people prefer viewing a physical image in a book rather than viewing it with among the thousands on the internet. Something about holding it image itself adds more value then digital pixels to some. Your work is appreciated as its own body and there is a niche for people who collect photobooks. A publication doesn’t end like an exhibition, once its out there, its out there forever for people to discover.

  • How much do you think you should be enticing the reader with good design?

In this day and age, I think this is very important. There is a high standards for design quality as so many styles have already been created. I believe it will have to stand out.

  • Would you agree that your reader ‘completes’ the publication?

I’m not sure about this. Yes, it is great if it is read of course, but if the creator is happy with what they have made then that is a success in itself.

  • How could you exhibit your publication?

My first choice would be on a stand or stool at a market. Or placed at the exit of an exhibition for people who really enjoyed the work.

Leave a Reply

