Engagement | Week 6: Exhibition Guidance | Surfaces and Strategies | Lesson/Research |

Feature Image.

I enjoyed viewing the ‘alternative’ gallery spaces my peers had researched, I especially liked Simon Sweeneys Projecting Change in Boulder, Colorado

mf-racingext-whalecar-1024x768.jpg

I think this makes great use of any given space one can find, a space that would normally be overlooked. There is a lot of possibilities with this method of display.

  • What impact does your chosen space have upon your photography, and vice-versa?

The chosen space can provide additional impact the your imagery, meaning the environment of which the photographs are in, can amplify the mood, emotions and meaning of the images one is displaying and the reasons for doing so through the visual aesthetics and lighting provided in the surroundings. The images will give life to the space which was once empty.

  • What is around the work that can direct or distract attention to and away from it? Could anything in that environment be used to heighten awareness of your work or emphasise the reading of it?

I think that the light setting is important. As light is such plays the biggest role in photography, it should also be respected when displaying the photographs themselves. Again the lighting will effect the atmospheric impact of the space and work placed in it, but if too dark or too bright, it may not adjust well to everyones liking. I feel a focused environment is ideal in an environment where there is no background noise, unless it is purposely playing through a speaker. I originally thought to display the work in a dark room, with the photos either hanging or against the wall with low atmospheric music playing. One of my tutors David Ellison mentioned this Nicework Gerry. They are looking ‘filmic’ have you considered exhibiting them as if they were movie house or darkened room?. I think the idea of a darker room, potentially a shed came to mind.

  • Who will your viewers be and what does your work expect of them? Does it expect them to be literate about photography or internet literate? Does your work expect too much / too little of your audience?

I’m a strong believer in the work speaks for itself, especially when it comes to photography. If they are interested, they will walk towards you work and view it. I think it is useful if your work can relate to anybody in some shape or form. My work that I would be displaying for instance, will show a darker side to life and a subject that looks sad, something we can all relate to at one point in our lives. As my work is very visually focused, with a meaning that can be interpreted in the viewers own way, I feel I would not be asking too much of my audience.

  • How long will you allow people to view your work? Is there a particular sequence in which you want the work to be experienced, or will you ’empower’ the viewer by allowing them to wonder freely around the space?

Interesting thing to think about. I think as it would be a small space, I would like to “empower” the viewer by letting them wonder freely, but where each photograph is positioned is a very important factor. I would have to take care in which photographs look better in each location of the space and be careful which photos are displayed next together, making sure they don’t clash or become too repetitive. I wouldn’t set any time limit as this may put the viewer under pressure.

  • How much can your viewer engage with the work directly? Can they contribute to it, or interact with it?

If the images where hanging, then I think touching them is as far as the interaction would go for my exhibition.

  • Do you value the thoughts and opinions of the viewer? If so, how would you go about collecting those?

I could leave a short form to fill out at the end to ask how did the space and photos made them feel… as I find that the most interesting part about my viewers experience.

  • Should photographs resonate with the space / place in which they are viewed? Whether you agree or disagree, try to describe your thoughts about this.

The space one chooses will do magic to the work, either fitting to the theme of your work, or completely juxtaposition, a space to display your work will make an impact.

  • Do you think consideration of the space and audience reduces your authorship of the work?

Not necessarily.

  • How could you get the audience to contribute, rather than participate in, experiencing your work?

I believe this is where a bigger budget would come in, but as I said lighting is important, one of the first things that came to mind is buttons the viewer can press to change the power of the bulb that is lighting up the photograph, or even the colour.

130208.jpg

Or, like Miwa Yanagi’s Performance Project, Include live models in the exhibition room. In my case, that would be the subject I have used in my photos, potentially standing in the corner of the middle of the room. I think that would add some power to the photos reality…

DSC_0414

Leave a Reply

